We only accept payment and provide information for tickets issued in Charlotte County.
A civil traffic infraction is a non-criminal charge issued by a law enforcement officer in the form of a citation, or traffic ticket. In most instances, a civil traffic infraction may be disposed of by:
You may request any of the above options by completing the Traffic Citation Option Form, then returning it to the Clerk of the Circuit Court within the time allowed.
If there is no court appearance required, and you wish to pay the penalty in full accepting the points (if applicable), you can complete the Traffic Option Form.
If the citation was issued for not carrying or exhibiting valid driver's license, or registration, or exhibit proof of insurance, valid proof must accompany the payment of a dismissal fee.
Methods of Payment:
Complete either the Traffic Option Form or the School Affidavit Form, then enclose this form with the school option payment amount. Information regarding schools is available on the Florida Department Of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website.
Failure to pay within the required time period may result in suspension of your license, an assessment of reinstatement fees, and late fees. In addition, the case may be referred to a collection agency and can incur the collection agency fees.
If the citation was issued for not carrying or exhibiting
You may have the violation dismissed by providing proof of valid registration, driver's license, or insurance along with payment of the $10.00 fee to the Clerk of the Circuit Court and County Comptroller, within 30 days of the date the citation or ticket was issued. This option is only available in cases in which your registration, driver's license or insurance was valid at the time the citation or ticket was issued.
Dismissal for Disabled Parking Permit or License Tag Violation
You may have the violation dismissed by providing proof of valid disabled parking permit or disabled license plate with your payment of the $17.50 fee to the Clerk of the Circuit Court within 30 days of the date the citation or ticket was issued. This option is only available in cases in which your disabled parking permit or disabled license plate was valid at the time the citation or ticket was issued.
For most non-traffic citation (Animal, Boating, Hunting, Fishing, Alarm, Tobacco, Code Enforcement). You have thirty (30) calendar days from the date you receive a non-traffic citation in order to elect one (1) of the following options below:
You must choose one (1) option and submit to the Clerk's Office within (30) thirty calendar days to avoid possible late fees if applicable or court appearances.
The Clerk of the Circuit Court and County Comptroller cannot offer any information on the number of points assessed against an individual's driver history record, or how points will affect insurance. Please address these concerns and questions with the Bureau of Driver Licenses and/or insurance agent.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles offers a website where you can verify the status of your license by entering your license number. If your license is not valid, a brief explanation and some instructions will display.